College of Forestry 120: College of Forestry Safety Committee

Safety Policy & Procedure Manual

Section 100: Introduction Effective: 01 January 2007 Revised: August 2014

PURPOSE

The purpose of this section is to establish and describe the functions of the College of Forestry Safety Committee.

POLICY

The College of Forestry hereby establishes the College of Forestry Safety Committee. The Committee will be composed of at least one representative from each Academic Department, at least one representative from the service groups, and one representative from the College Forests staff. The committee members will be appointed by the respective department or group leaders (i.e., Department Heads, College Director of Operations (for service groups), College Forests Director). The Dean will designate the Chair for this Committee. Terms of service will be two years with options for renewal and a rotation schedule to ensure continuity.

Procedure

The College Safety Committee shall work closely with the Environmental Health and Safety Unit of University Facilities Services and the University Safety Committee. The current safety committee is identified as:

Steve Tesch, (Chair)

Jim Kiser, FERM; University Safety Committee liaison; forestry field instruction and research safety Roger Admiral, Building and Facilities; university emergency planning initiative John Mikkelson, Building and Facilities; university emergency planning initiative Steve Fitzgerald, College Forests safety

Jeff Wimer, FERM, logging/field safety

Cam Jones, FES, chemical lab safety

Kent Davis, WSE, wood lab safety

Sean SanRomani, Computing Resources, general office and employee safety

Kori Ault, FES, biohazards safety